Ask and Ye Shall Receive…

I told the Universe I needed to have more fun and more joy.  Bring me more fun and more joy, I said.

Wine from the Hot French Lobbyist arrived yesterday.

Today, I received an email from the Event Planner from the Hilton where we held our work Christmas party.  I had a few small comments/complaints about the event – nothing significant, because I thought it was a lovely evening.  Josianne responded with a gift certificate for brunch for two at Arome, the wonderful restaurant at the hotel.How thoughtful!  How gracious!  How delightful!

Let’s see….what can I ask for today?

Well, the Boss is thinking about Christmas bonuses tonight.  I want the full amount.  No, wait!  Perhaps I will ask the Universe for a bigger bonus!!  I want a bonus that is 25% higher than last year.  That would bring great joy into my life!

It’s true that I often don’t ask for what I want in life.  It takes me out of my comfort zone.  It makes me feel selfish.  I often don’t think I am worthy of asking.

However, because I am 49 (almost 50!), I’m old enough to know that despite the momentary discomfort, sometimes you just gotta ask for what you want.  Even if you’re asking the Universe.  Maybe especially if you’re asking the Universe.

Leave a comment

Filed under food, fun, maturity, wine

Leave a Reply

