Information Applied is Power

The good thing about lots of time on the couch over the holidys is lots of time to read, surf, watch TV, and generally catch up on the news of the day.

While surfing, I came across the newest book written by the speaker of a video I watched some time ago.  Yay!  I’d rather read than do just about anything else.  I even paid full price for it at Chapters because I was too impatient to order it online.  Why We Get Fat….And What To Do About It is a fascinating read.There’s lots of science, which I love, but also lots of good information which I found easy enough to get through.  I wonder if it’s really this simple?

Summary:  you don’t get fat from eating fat or protein.  You get fat from eating carbs.  Period. Too many carbs spikes an insulin release which packs the carbs into fat cells.  Dietary fat and protein take much longer to enter the bloodstream and can be used by the body more efficiently for energy before any storage occurs.  That’s why high-protein diets seem to be very successful.

This fits well with what I’ve been thinking about lately, so I’m going to try a 60 day experiment.  If I can eat low-carb for 60 days, will I drop some weight without being hungry, and more importantly….will my face clear up???????

Sis went to the Derm yesterday…who told her that sugar and carbs have a direct impact on acne!  Why, oh why, have I not tried a low-carb, high protein diet before now?

AND…if that weren’t insult enough, the book also says that insulin resistance (what happens when too much sugar = too much insulin = too much body fat) gets worse as we get older.  Another joy of being 49-almost-50.  I wonder how many carbs are in red wine?

I will update as I go.  Hoping for the best.

1 Comment

Filed under acne, books, clear skin, food, health, menopause

One response to “Information Applied is Power

  1. Thanks for this post. I equally agree with what you are saying. I have been talking about this subject a lot lately with my father so normally this will get him to see my point of view. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

