An Interesting Exercise

I read about an interesting exercise on another blog today….wish I could find it again so I could give it appropriate applause.

The exercise is this:  write a letter dated January 2012.  Let it be a letter to the “you” in January 2011, congratulating yourself for everything you accomplished in 2011.  Include how you felt about everything that happened — how proud you were of your achievements, how disappointed you were when you didn’t achieve your goals.  Let the year you have planned unfold in this letter….For example, if my goal is for the low-carb plan to help clear up my skin, I would say…

“You were so hopeful that the low-carb plan would help clear up your skin and you were overjoyed that it only took 2 months to show incredible results!  So, you followed the plan all year long and your skin is now healthy and glowing.”

This sounds like a great exercise.  I’m going to think long and hard about what I want my life to look like a year from now.

The plan is to then put the letter away and open it in January 2012.  I’m hoping that the results will be even better than I could imagine!  I may share it….or not!  I’m kinda private that way sometimes.

I just found the blog – here it is on the Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans blog!  I love this paragraph:

“Because January, heck, 2011 isn’t going to be about weight-loss, it’s going to be about soul-searching and finding out what you’re made of. It’s about goal-setting and goal-reaching and persistence and finding and re-finding motivation”.

Yeah!

Leave a comment

Filed under acne, books, clear skin, food, health, menopause

Leave a Reply

