The Heart Truth

Since it’s Valentine’s Day, and not having a hunkaroo at the moment, I planned something special for myself.

I had an appointment for a physical early this morning before heading off to work.  It’s been quite some time since my last one.  Several years ago, I broke my ankle and spent far too much time hanging out with medical professionals and dealing with some grim complications.  I was a little Doc-phobic.

But today, I followed some very good advice from The Heart TruthDr. Dave tested my blood pressure (low/normal:  100/70) and sent me for bloodtests to check my cholesterol.  I’m down in weight from my last appointment, and I try to get some exercise every week.  I don’t smoke and I try to manage the stress of my crazy job (?!?!) with regular yoga.  The bloodwork also tested my blood sugar because diabetes runs in my family and is a significant risk factor for heart disease.

I get the results in two weeks.  Hoping for good things.It wouldn’t surprise me if my liver is made of chocolate cake…..with frosting!  I’m cake’d out.  I’m not sure that’s ever happened before, but that’s how I feel today.

My V’day gift to everyone – a gentle reminder to look after your heart health.

 

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under food, health, job, yoga

3 responses to “The Heart Truth

  1. Good luck with your results! 😀

  2. Glad to hear you had a checkup. Taking responsibility for one’s own health is very important. I had a surprise heart attack last year and am doing everything I can to avoid having another one. Next week I get my teeth cleaned.

Leave a Reply

