Vegetarian Goodness

It’s going to warm up today to above 0°C.  Hallelujah!  And by the end of the week, the temp will reach +10°C.  That’s 50°F.  Heaven.

I went to dinner last night with Cousin R, who is very much an “older brother”.  I don’t have any brothers, so my older cousins assume the role occasionally.

Cousin R is a former Air Force pilot, MBA, BMW-driving, Type A executive.  And he’s got lots of job advice for me, in the manner of all older brother types.  Actually, he’s got advice of all kinds.  I’ll use what I believe has merit and leave the rest.  And he paid for dinner!  🙂

We went to a groovy vegetarian restaurant called The Zen Kitchen.  The food was reasonably good but the service was amazing.  The special of the day was a dish with root vegetables.  Since beets are my very favorite veg, I inquired if there were beets in the meal.  Sadly, the answer was no.  But the chef sent out some organic pickled beets, just for me!

I pulled some pics off the website….Cousin R is not really into photographing food in public places.  Type A executive, like I said.  🙂

The dinner conversation also centered around yoga.  Cousin R and his wife C are accomplished yoga-ites.  Mr. Type A is trying to zen down to an –A!!  Amusing.  They recommended this yoga retreat, Kripalu, but it’s far beyond my budget.  Looks fabulous, though.  In the meantime, I’ll work on my practice at Blue Bamboo (now free since I’m a volunteer) and at home.

On a completely different note, Cousin R’s son M, who is in Hong King teaching, is dating the sweetheart of Asian pop music – Joyce Cheng (#1 on the HK charts for 4 weeks!!).  I received her new CD as a Chinese New Year gift.  I haven’t listened to it yet, but here\’s an article about the cute couple.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

