Life Lesson, Learned Late

Lesson:  Get the good wipers!

The real lesson is that sometimes it’s important to spend the money on something that has real value – a change-your-life item.

Doesn’t that sound dramatic? 

I’m an under-buyer.  So says Gretchen Rubin from the Happiness Project.  There is a quiz connected to that link – go ahead and give it a shot.  Given the opportunity, I will buy cheaper, or fewer, or not at all.  This philosophy comes in very handy in the cosmetics aisle of the drugstore, but it often doesn’t serve me well in other areas.

I had terrible winshield wipers (yes, cheap ones) that died last week in the middle of the drive home on a snowy/rainy night.  I replaced them with the $55 Rain-X kick-ass wiper blades.  I’m telling you….it was a CHANGE-MY-LIFE moment!

The clarity!  The performance!  The beauty! 

Why didn’t I do this years ago?  Sometimes you just have to spend the money for quality.  And sometimes, unlike the cosmetics aisle, quality is worth it.  In most things in life.  Only took me 49 1/2 years to learn that.  I’m a little slow, but I get it eventually.  🙂

I had a great drive to work this morning and a great drive to Blue Bamboo.  I’m almost looking forward to the next 3 rainy days that will take most of the snow away.  Welcome, Spring!  Especially if it’s raining.  🙂

2 Comments

Filed under joy, maturity, money

2 responses to “Life Lesson, Learned Late

  1. wow…kick ass wipers, huh? I hope you put them to good use over the next several days…and get rid of all that nasty snow…it’s kind of been spitting snow off and on all day today…I’m so over it…spring can’t get here soon enough for me. I’m going to start my tomato and pepper plants this weekend…that’ll make me feel like spring is a little closer!

Leave a Reply

