A New Week

Clearly, I’ve been off the grid for a week.

Workouts:  building Noah’s ark.  Kidding.  Sort of.  And that’s it.

It’s been raining for a whole week.  The skies cleared this afternoon, but there are mushrooms growing on my front lawn.

OK, first, job news.  I did not get the job I interviewed for on Tuesday.  In fact, I didn’t make it past the first round of interviews.  In spite of being the most experienced, the interviewer was a CA, and only accountants made it to the second round.

In truth, I didn’t connect with her at all, and had a bad feeling coming out of the interview.  Bad enough that I was hoping that I didn’t get it because I didn’t want to have to turn it down.  It’s bad to turn down a job when a headhunter has arranged the interview – they think you’re a total loser and won’t send you on any more!  Intuition is a very impressive thing, I must say.  Nothing about the interview gave me a good feeling, and I was clearly in tune with that.

I also refined the vision of the Great Fun Job.  I don’t want to work downtown.  I don’t want to have an hour long commute each day, nor do I want to take public transit or pay $200/month for parking.  Note to self:  the new job must be within 30 minutes of home.  Check.

That first interview was interesting:  it was a bit like losing my virginity again!  Whew!  Much better now that it’s over.  Whether it’s sexual or career, the first time is highly over-rated!!

With the stress of interviewing and waiting for a response, eating well and working out went out the window.  Fail.  And it poured all week long!  Big fail.

Thursday night, I had a couple of glasses of yummy red wine and some appetizers at a groovy place called DiVino\’s Wine Studio.  There was a whole wall of wine!

The Hot French Lobbyist invited me – very thoughtful.  I think he wanted to give me a chance to vent about the interview.  He’s so sweet.  And hot.  Really hot.  Just sayin’.  😉

Friday night, I had popcorn, pizza and Bacardi Breezers with Best Friend.  It was raining.  We also watched a movie – Blue Valentine.  It was beautifully acted and absolutely depressing.  Total downer.

And now it’s Sunday night, and it’s time to go back to work.  Chocolate will be consumed tonight.

2 Comments

Filed under career, chocolate, dating, dieting, fitness, food, friends, fun, interview, job, sex, wine

2 responses to “A New Week

  1. beautiful woman… sorry to hear about the downers this week… you will however, rebound… life is terrific…and you girly-girl will be at the head of your pack… I have faith…I keep reading about you and am encouraged….

    T.

  2. see? you learned a lot from this interview…knowing that you don’t want to deal with the long commute is huge…something great is sure to come your way!! I had to work all weekend (and today), but now I’m on vacation…not going anywhere, but do have a lot of things to get done…still…vacations are super!!

Leave a Reply

