Harry Lives!

Workout:  30 minutes before work this a.m.

I just cried my heart and my eyes out tonight.

With joy and sadness.

With joy because Harry lives!  With sadness because it’s so hard to say goodbye to Harry in the end.

If you haven’t figured it out, I saw Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2 tonight.

I’ve been a fan of Harry’s since the first book came out.  I don’t like to jump on hype bandwagons, but I do love to read.  I’ve waited for each book and each movie with great anticipation.  There aren’t that many things in life that give that much joy, but J.K. Rowling has been the universe’s gift to all who read.  The books truly are brilliant and magical.

Do you know that I have a high school girlfriend who is “Christian”.  She grew up in a family with no alcohol, no movies, no dancing, no parties.  She has married and is raising her family this way (although she did have a few crazy years when we moved away from home and became roommates.  Lord, if her mama only knew!!!).

She refuses to let her children (now teens) read the Harry Potter books.  They are about black magic and witchcraft, she says, which will contaminate her children’s souls.  Her pastor says so.  Oh dear.

I am grateful for my parents’ encouragement to read, for the gift of words and ideas, and for their ability to let go and let us make our own decisions about what we will think.

And because this was given in a strict Roman Catholic household, it was a true blessing.

My deep thoughts on pop culture, literature and religion on this fine summer day.  🙂  Especially with a glass of wine on the deck.  How Irish of me!

Leave a comment

Filed under books, brain, friends, high school, joy, maturity

Leave a Reply

